top of page

NIT Calicut

Finding Inspiration in Every Turn


National Institute of Technology Calicut was founded as Regional Engineering College, Calicut, in 1961. National Institute of Technology Calicut (NITC) is an Institution of National Importance, centrally funded by MHRD and is governed by the NIT Act 2007. NITC ranked 25 in the engineering stream and 2 in the architecture stream in India by the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) in 2023. The Institute has ten departments, three schools and nine research centres. It offers ten UG and thirty PG programmes along with the Ph.D. programme in various fields of Science, Technology and Engineering. Faculties in the various Departments have active collaboration with Universities and elite institutions within and outside India for research and have active consultancy for industries. Set in a picturesque at the foothills of the Western Ghats, it is located about 22 kilometers north-east of Calicut city. It is a prestigious institute with a reputation for excellence at undergraduate, postgraduate and research levels, fostering the spirit of national integration among the students and close interaction with industry.


Department of Chemical Engineering

Established in 2006, the department offers B.Tech, M.Tech and Ph.D in Chemical Engineering. The department is recognized primarily for its continual improvement in academic output. It is involved in a broad spectrum of active interdisciplinary research with 28 dynamic faculty, motivated students, and efficient technical and supporting staff with excellent state of the art laboratories. A continuous improvement in the curriculum is adopted in each academic year in consultation with the department advisory board (DAB) consisting of eminent academic personalities, industry professionals, and alumni so as to meet the emerging challenges faced by the industry. The vibrant research culture in the department is visible from the sponsored projects by various departments and organizations, including the MHRD, SERB, DST, R&D TATA Steel, SPARC, and KSCSTE etc. The department is also actively involved in conducting International Conferences, Faculty Development Programmes, Job-oriented Short-term Training Programmes and Continuing Education Programmes for Engineering professionals and academic faculty.

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Started in 1961, Department of Mechanical Engineering, the largest department in the Institute, offers regular undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral degree programmes.  It also offers part time doctoral degree programmes, mainly meant for those employed in industries and academic institutions.  Department offers continuing education programmes for industry and academic personnel. Summer/Winter schools have also been organised by the Department.  The faculty of this department provides guest lecture for many of the neighbouring institutions.  Besides teaching, the members of the faculty are involved in consultancy work (Design & Development, Energy Auditing, Industrial Sickness Evaluation, Testing etc.), sponsored research work (sponsored by DST, AICTE, ARDB etc.), and product development.

Robotic Arm
Stellenbosch univ_logo_edited.jpg

Department of Mechanical & Mechatronics Engineering,
Stellenbosch University

Stellenbosch University was founded in 1918.  At first, there were 4 faculties (Science, Education, Arts and Social Sciences, and AgriSciences).  An Engineering Faculty was added in 1944, offering degrees in Civil, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, and Applied Mathematics.  The faculty were expanded to include Chemical Engineering (1969) and Industrial Engineering (1980).  Mechatronic Engineering (2006) was included in the renamed department of Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering.  Stellenbosch University currently has about 28 000 students spread over 10 faculties, and is ranked amongst the top 251 – 300 in the world, and 5th in Africa.  The Engineering faculty has about 3 800 students, of which about 1 000 study Mechanical or Mechatronic Engineering.  We offer bachelors degrees in Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering, Post Graduate Diplomas in Renewable Energy and Biomedical Engineering, a structured masters degree (coursework & mini-thesis) in Renewable Energy, research masters degrees in both mechanical and mechatronic engineering, a multi-disciplinary M Sc Engineering degree in biomedical engineering, and doctoral degrees in both mechanical and mechatronic engineering.

bottom of page